Steve McCurry Exhibit at MACRO

Yesterday, I viewed Steve McCurry’s exhibit at the Macro (Museo D’Arte Contemporanea Roma). You may not be familiar with the name, but if you tend to glance at the newsstands you are undoubtedly familiar with his images. Most notably his National Geographic portraits.

My initial reaction was awe, then I was struck with a compulsion to never take another photograph. An incredible feeling of inferiority came over me. It is the type of feeling that usually challenges me and drives me to improve, but his level of execution seems unobtainable. His work was so good, it made me embarrassed. He has amassed entire books containing photographs of a surreal caliber. There’s no need for me to go on. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

