Paris – Arrival

I stepped of the train after arriving in Paris feeling a bit nervous, then as I walked out of the station and saw the city for the first time my anxiety turned to excitement, this was the home of the Louvre and the Eiffel Tower. I was in “The City of Lights” and it was amazing.
paris, france, photography, travel
I ventured on a little further in an attempt to find my hostel. The sidewalks were filthy, stained black and littered with cigarette butts, chewing gum, liquor bottles and beer cans. The light poles, phone booths, shop windows, street signs, mopeds and motorcycles were covered in stickers and graffiti. The further I traveled away from the train station the worse it got. Then came the street hustlers and beggars. Jabbing at me with packs of cigarets and cups of change, attempting to converse with me using everything in the french vocabulary except the handful of words and phrases I had learned. I finally built up enough courage to reply “Je ne comprehends pas, Je ne parle pas francais”. It turned out to be good practice as I would be using those expressions quite often. I eventually arrived safely, checked in, dropped off my pack and went to find some food.
paris, france, photography, travel, backpacking
phone booth, paris, france, travel, backpacking, grafitti

One Response to “Paris – Arrival”

  1. I remember the first time I arrived in Paris – I kind of felt the same way. I was stunned by the graffiti and overall dirtiness of the “worlds most romantic city”. BUT, it’s grown on me and I’m sure it will do the same to you. Bonne chance!

Leave a Reply

