Le musee de Louvre


click for a larger view

After a bad first impression I was ready for Paris to show me why it was so great. My first stop would be the musee de Louvre. I decided to walk instead of taking the subway. I always like to walk around a bit and get my bearing when I first arrive in a new city. Paris was a whole different being in the hazy daylight. The moaning clawing zombie had become a lazy sleeping hobo. Still covered in filth and emitting a horrid stench but far less threatening.

The Louvre is a massive complex at the center of which is the famous glass pyramid. The building is beautiful, with ornate stone work and massive white marble statues. Once inside I like everyone else headed directly toward the Italian renaissance paintings. More specifically the “Mona Lisa”. I enjoy art, especially that of the quality the Louvre has to offer. So, I didn’t go directly for Da Vinci. I must have viewed 5000 paintings before reaching “La Gioconda ” and after viewing it I can’t recall a single one. There were as many as 500 people in the room when I entered, but as soon as I was within viewing distance it was as if she was looking directly at me. No matter where I went her gaze followed, no matter which angle I viewed from we made perfect eye contact. The eyes are alive. To give it as little credit as possible, it was unimaginable exceptional and infallible.

In the daylight the pyramid is anything but impressive, the reflecting ponds are littered with trash And the grandeur is drown out by the surrounding buildings. After sundown it was magnificent. The geometries of pyramid and reflecting pond are flawless and complement each other perfectly. It seems everything in Paris comes alive when the sun goes down and the lights come on.

Leave a Reply

