Europa Sulla Mente

On January 2nd, I leave for a backpacking trip across Europe. The fruition of a unrelenting childhood dream. It has recently come to dominate my thought. This seems like as good a time as any to start my travel blog.

I fly out of Fargo, North Dakota; have an eighteen hour layover in Chicago, before heading over the pond to London. I will be spending a few days in London before moving on to Paris. After Paris my travel plans are wide open. I don’t like anything concrete, especially travel plans. Detailed itineraries are exhausting, I want to leave room for unanticipated adventures. I do however have a list of places I can not miss Nice, Venice, the Cinque Terre, Florence, Rome and Naples. It is a short list which leaves me plenty of room for improvisation. I have been reading a lot of Thoreau lately, consequently there are a few passages I can’t seem to get out of my head. This one seems to back my need to be free of tangible travel plans, “Let him turn which way he will, it falls opposite to the sun; short at noon, long at eve.” (A week on the Concord and Merrimack).

One Response to “Europa Sulla Mente”

  1. Sandra Leah Says:

    Don’t forget to go to Scotland!

Leave a Reply

